Home   /   Music  /  Lifestyle  /   Shawn Mendes To Release New Self-Titled Album

Shawn Mendes To Release New Self-Titled Album

Shawn Mendes To Release New Self-Titled Album

Multi-Platinum singer/songwriter Shawn Mendes, has just announced his highly-anticipated self-titled third album via Island Records, due out May 25th, 2018.  Shawn announced the album with a stunning nine hour live-stream as a team of artists and florists created an art installation in real time to reveal the album cover, here. The album follows 2016’s double platinum Illuminate which spawned 3 Top 10 radio hits, and 2014’s Handwritten which included the 7x platinum smash #1 single “Stitches,” both of which debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top 200 Chart.


Since its release, “In My Blood” has garnered over 145 million streams, and reached Top 15 at Pop Radio, Top 10 at Hot AC Radio, and debuted #1 on iTunes in 50+ countries, as well as Top 3 Australia, and Top 10 National Airplay in UK and Germany. Co-produced by Shawn with Teddy Geiger and co-written by both alongside longtime collaborators Scott Harris and Geoff Warburton, “In My Blood” is an empowering rock anthem about having the will to overcome, featuring Shawn’s most vulnerable, honest lyrics to date. See the powerful lyrics come to life in the video for “In My Blood” released earlier this week.


“In My Blood” and “Lost In Japan,” the first two tracks heard off the upcoming album, released to rave reviews and received critical acclaim from everyone including Rolling Stone, Billboard, Idolator, Variety and Paste, with “In My Blood” topping TIME Magazine’s “5 Songs You Need to Listen to This Week” and The New York Times’ “The Playlist.  Both tracks have already experienced massive success, soaring to the #1 and #2 spots on the overall iTunes chart in the U.S, Top 5 on iTunes in 50 countries, and holding the #1 and #2 spots on Spotify’s “New Music Friday” playlist. Additional tracks on the album include “Youth” featuring Khalid, “Fallin’ All In You” (co-written by Ed Sheeran), “Particular Taste” (co-written by Ryan Tedder), and “Like To Be You” featuring Julia Michaels who co-wrote the song; the song also features a guitar solo from John Mayer, who produced the track. (Michaels also co-wrote “Nervous.”)

Recently recognized by TIME as one of the 100 Most Influential People of 2018, Shawn took to the stage to perform for his fellow honorees, artists, celebrities, and change-makers at the TIME 100 Gala on Tuesdaynight. Worldwide, he has sold over 10 million albums, 100 million singles, and has amassed over 11 billion song streams and 4 billion YouTube views. Shawn has completed two sold-out world tours with over one million tickets sold, selling out legendary arenas including NYC’s Madison Square Garden and multiple dates at Toronto’s Air Canada Centre and London’s O2 Arena in minutes. He topped Billboard’s “21 Under 21” in 2017 and has been featured on Forbes “30 Under 30,” and Spotify’s “25 Under 25.” In February 2018, ROI Influencer Media recognized Shawn as the #1 Most Influential Artist across all social media platforms.


Track List 

1. In My Blood

2. Nervous

3. Lost In Japan

4. Where Were You In The Morning?

5. Like To Be You (Ft. Julia Michaels)

6. Fallin’ All In You

7. Particular Taste

8. Why

9. Because I Had You

10. Queen

11. Youth (ft. Khalid)

12. Mutual

13. Perfectly Wrong

14. When You’re Ready


Related Article